You’re going to need an elastic waistband.

With the holidays fast approaching, I thought I would gift you with my most favorite holiday cookie recipe EVER.  Every year at the holidays, Aunt Millie makes about a gross of these cutout cookies and they are devoured long before we hit the thruway.  I would like to say I had more restraint than that, but lets be honest.  I don’t.  I asked her for the recipe last year but never got around to trying it out.  This year I bought Luke his own rolling pin so we can give it a try without me swearing about how he just ripped off the arms on the angel.  I’ll post some pictures up soon.  Until then, enjoy Aunt Millie’s cookies!

Aunt Millie’s Sugar Cookies:

1 c. butter

1 c. sugar

1 egg

2 T. milk

1 T. grated orange zest

1 t. baking powder

1/2 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1 t. orange extract

1 t. vanilla extract

3 c. flour

Directions:  Beat butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add the egg and then the milk, orange zest and extracts.  Slowly add the dry ingredients.  Chill for 2 hours or overnight.  Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.  Watch them carefully, they tend to brown easily.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’re going to need an elastic waistband.

  1. anna says:

    do you roll and cut out these cookies? then frost? they sound delicious! thanks for sharing a sacred family recipe.

Leave a Reply

