Easter Bunting Tutorial

We are continuing my in-laws tradition of hosting an Easter Egg Hunt for the little ones in our lives.  It will be our first attempt, and I am pretty stoked.  We received our shipment of “original eggs” today in the mail, in all of their well loved glory.  Apparently it was such a big event covering such vast acreage that my father in law would number the eggs and write down where he put them so that they could find them all after the big hunt!  If you look closely at the eggs in the box, you can still see some of the masking tape numbers!  I think that these sorts of traditions are such a part of the fabric of being a family and I can hardly wait until the big day so Luke can join in!

eggs in shoe

I was thinking about decorations, and depending on the weather we could be inside or out (this is Upstate NY) so I figured that they should be durable enough to withstand the great outdoors.  We also plan on making this an annual event, so why buy decorations every year?  That is such a waste of money and resources to me.  So I decided to try my hand at a non-tradional Easter Bunting.  You won’t find any triangles here!

Tulips, and Robin’s Eggs, and Carrots, and Bunnies… Oh My!!

If you’re interested, read along to see how I made this springy Easter bunting!

Materials: Felt in various colors, ribbon, decorations, sewing machine, hot glue gun, brown fabric paint, paint brush.

Directions:

1. Download the pdf pattern file, print onto card-stock and cut out the templates.

2. Cut out your shapes from craft felt and organize your pieces.  I used 2 sheets of green, orange, blue, and purple felt, and 3 sheets of white felt for my bunting which has 4 of each shape on the ribbon.

3. Take the blue eggs and spatter brown fabric paint onto them to make them look like robin’s eggs.  I used a silicone pastry brush and a big bamboo skewer so that I wouldn’t glob or get paint on my hands.  Let them dry, unless you want a brown sewing machine.

4. Prepare the carrot by sewing the leaves and the roots right sides together and then pressing them open.  You can do these assembly line style on your sewing machine to save time.  Remember, you will need twice as many of every shape so that you can sew them onto the ribbon.  This way it looks nice from the front and the back, and the felt I bought was pretty cheap, so doubling up helped make it more substantial and opaque.

5. Prepare the tulip by sewing the bottom of the leaves together to make a pocket to slide both thicknesses of the tulip flower into.  I tried these a bunch of different ways, and starting with the leaf pocket worked the best for me at keeping everything all lined up and neat.  I started at one outside point of the leaf and then sewed the bottom edge.  As I pivoted to do the top part of the leaf, I inserted both layers of felt into the pocket and sewed the top edge of the leaf.

6. Arrange the shapes on your ribbon.  I chose a printed ribbon, which I like, but wish it were decorated on both sides.  You could double up the ribbon, or choose a woven instead of a printed pattern.  I pinned each of the shapes in place making sure to sandwich the ribbon between the two layers of felt and then sewed around the outside.

7. Once I finished sewing them in place it was time for decorating.  On the carrot, I embroidered little yellow stitches along the lines in the pattern.  On the bunnies, I machine stitched the division between the ears and the legs, and embroidered a nose, eye and ear center.  I also hot glued on a pompom tail and a tiny brown ribbon bow with a pink button.

8. To finish the ribbon, I took the ends and turned them in to make a loop to hang the bunting from!

I also saw a great tutorial from Dana at Made (as a guest blogger on V. and Co.) doing her take on an Easter bunting… Peeps!  You can’t go wrong, so get yourself some felt and get stitching!

This entry was posted in Holiday, Tutorial and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

