F = kx

Or… Spring has Sprung!  I can’t help it.  I love science and I am a dork.  And nobody has to sit there and listen to me get all excited about it anymore.  Enter the blog.

We went for a walk this morning after a tasty breakfast to wish a friend good luck on her move to Beantown.  It was a nice, slow, and sentimental morning filled with memories, new beginnings and lots of coffee.  Spring always amazes me with its sudden arrival.  It seems like you are waiting forever for it to get here; bundled in layers, sipping drinking chocolate and battling snow drifts up to your waist.  But when it arrives you have to be ready or you will miss the transition, which, as far as I am concerned, is the most amazing part.

On Monday, I knew this was going to be the week.  It had been warm, rain was forcasted, and the buds were swollen in anticipation.  The forsythia bloomed first, which I am told, is a phenological indicator of the emergence certain weevils.  (Just in case you were wondering.)  We got some rain, and then the world literally exploded around us.  There is a vernal pond near our home where we walked this morning.  Full of duck weed and mallards and mating geese and wild raspberries and water striders and one lone pussy willow.  I have been searching for a good source of free pussy willow branches for years.  So far, not too much luck except for this one that doesn’t have too much to spare.  Guess I’ll just have to keep hiking around or go to the market and buy some.

I hope that you are reveling in the wonder of spring in your corner of the world too.  Breathe it in now- savor it deeply, because next week, we will think it commonplace!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

