Bread Day

Its amazing what you can get at the grocery store for bread.  And I’m not being nice.  If I am trying to pick up a loaf of bread for my family that fits into my budget I would rather eat sawdust.  Now I know that local bakeries and even Wegmans can produce some tasty artisan loaves of rustic, crusty, custard-crumb loaves.  However, at $4.00 a small loaf and more, I can’t afford to spend so much money just on bread, even if it tastes good.  That is where my quest for a good homemade loaf of bread began.

I have been trying to master some bread recipes for about 6 years now.  I have been having a really hard time getting the hang of it!  It is really frustrating to be honest, because I am a pretty good baker of sweets, but try a bread and I end up pulling out something you could use to repair the foundation of your house with.

This February, Martha Stewart Living published an article about a classic white bread dough that you could doctor up and turn into multigrain, rye or cinnamon raisin bread.  I jumped at the chance and was pleasantly surprised by how well my bread turned out.  Not only edible, but really good sandwich bread!  I made the cinnamon raisin and the multigrain and loved both.  The multigrain wasn’t too heavy either, which is hard to get right!  Here is the link to the recipe, give it a try! Your family and your grocery bill will thank you!

This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bread Day

  1. Ren says:

    I have been wanted to try my hand at bread making- a nurse at my husbands office sometimes sends a loaf home with him and it taste better than the 5.50 loaf from the farmers market! Not sure if I am up for screw ups and frustration- I might just wait for the fall but I have book marked the link!
    Your bread looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

