Be gentle, my friends.

To say that our family is in transition would be an understatement.  At times I feel overwhelmed, overworked, crazed and paralyzed.  It always seems ironic to me that the more there is to do, the less able I seem to be to do it.  I haven’t blogged here since June because I am trying to be gentle with myself.  Gentleness is something that I have to remind myself to do- in my experience, it doesn’t appear to come easily for most women.

I have trouble looking at a day that didn’t see my to-do list neatly checked off.  I have trouble sleeping when I know I should have loaded the dishwasher.  I have trouble appreciating the gift of staying home with my son when I have to read the same book 12 times in a row on the floor at 3 pm when I still haven’t showered or figured out what I am cooking for dinner.

So for now, I have cleared my calendar.  I will stay in my pajamas all day, even if it is just because I haven’t caught up with the laundry.  I will not run errands all week long.  I will cook.  I will bake.  I will ask for help.  I will take after dinner strolls through the park with my son.  I will talk to strangers and drink wine and garden.  I will be present in the moment instead of worrying about things left undone.

So here’s to living the last days of summer fully, richly and gently.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

